It is good practice to take backup of layouts before making any changes. On the main page of the page designer, at the top you will see a button “Backup Current Layout” . On clicking this, you will be asked the name of the back up. As you fill the name, a backup of your layout will be saved. Tab with Layout Backups Clicking on it will show you the list of backups you have taken.
If you want to restore a backup again, click on the green button in front of it. You will see a screen like this:
In this you can choose the layouts that you want to restore from backup. After selecting them you have three options:
- Restore Privately: When you click on this button, the layouts are restored, but they remain as drafts and you can view them only by enabling preview mode. To make the changes public, you need to click on the Publish button in front of the layout entries. It does not apply any theme settings also.
- Restore and Publish: This allows the layout to be restored and made public. It does not apply any theme settings also.
- Publish with Theme: This also restores the layout, makes them publicly available and also applies the theme settings which was saved during back up.